That's what it's called in theory. The first phase of "culture shock", followed by The Frustration Phase, The Adjustment Phase and the Mastery Phase.
It's when everything is new and exciting, you're in love with your new country, and it lasts (on average) 3 to 6 months.
Well people, I think I've skipped it.
Maybe it was because of the sleep deprivation.
Maybe it was because I just spent a month alone with a toddler and a newborn with health issues and I was simply in some kind of postnatal shock.
Maybe it was because I was not happy about moving here in the first place.
Maybe it was because I'm just faithful, and I will always be true to Brussels.
Whatever the reason, I think my "honeymoon" consisted of only the following:
- I immediately loved our new apartment (still do, although if the elevator breaks down once more and I have to climb to the topfloor with two kids and grocery bags again, I swear the landlord will get to know me personally)
- I got happy as a kid with the first snow (now I'm like "God, not again")
- I ate bretzels every single day for at least 6 weeks (now, I kind of had enough)
- I love the Mexican taqueria we discovered (but that's more my love for Mexico than for Germany)
- I thought people were friendlier than in Brussels (I know now they can be just as rude and grumpy)
Moreover, I'm now what's generally known as "an expat wife". I quote what the Internation website has to say on the issue in their article on Culture Shock :
"Culture shock is not a myth, but a predictable phenomenon. Anybody who spends more than just a vacation abroad has to go through it. The intensity with which people experience it, however, depends on a lot of factors. Those who receive the least support on a professional and personal basis are usually hit the hardest. Expat spouses in particular often feel isolated and resentful when they experience life in a new cultural environment."
About the "professional support", I have to say that I'm very grateful for all the help we got from our relocation agency Start Up Services. Seriously, I don't know what we would have done without them. They have helped with finding a place, finding a school, all the paper work, finding a cleaning lady, etc, etc. The list is endless. I'm sure P's company is paying them good money for it, but still...They have been super friendly, answering emails late at night and on weekends, coming at home so I don't have to travel to them with the baby,...
As for "personal support"...I think the Little Man is the only one who shamelessly expresses his homesickness. And gets comforted.
Anyway, I have a feeling that the Honeymoon Phase isn't the only one I might skip or not experience.
To be continued...
Geen opmerkingen:
Een reactie posten