woensdag 11 februari 2015
Ah....the Belgians
Can I rant a bit? Yes, I can. That's what this blog is for as well.
I'm trying to organise a dutch speaking playgroup, so that The Little Man can make little friends and play in his mothertongue. Now, you can find playgroups in Munich in about every language. Italian, French, Korean (!), English, Spanish, and so on. You get the idea. None in Dutch. Nada. Yes, there is the "Nederlandse school" - expensive, waiting lists, school 2 half days a week, and way out of town. So I decided to put something on the Parents in Munich facebook page. Very positive reactions from some Dutch moms, like "Great! Let's meet". No reaction whatsoever from any Flemish Belgians.
I post the same thing on the Facebook page "Belgians in Bayern", and there we go....
"In town is too difficult." "For what age?" "There are not enough dutch speaking Belgians here". "what day? because I can only come during holidays".
Sigh...
Why oh why are they (we?) like that? Maybe that's why I liked living in Brussels so much...Almost no (Flemish) Belgians living there (and the ones that are, are clearly different from the rest and mostly married to a non-Belgian). Always complaining, always seeing problems instead of solutions, narrow minded, not into city life, afraid of the unknown, rarely showing enthusiasm, social only with own family or life-long friends,....Okay, I'll stop there.
Maybe that's why I've married someone who's only half Belgian. Maybe that's why most of my friends are not Belgian. Maybe that's why every expat mom I've met on the playground in Brussels was surprised when I said that I was from Belgium. Maybe that's why I've ended up as an expat wife myself.
Abonneren op:
Reacties posten (Atom)
Geen opmerkingen:
Een reactie posten